Posted on 5 Comments

Dark Angel – Leave Scars 30 Years Later – Does It Still Stand UP?


It was 1991 when I bought the Leave Scars LP that came with a sticker reading “9 songs, 67 minutes, 246 riffs!” I didn’t like it as much as Darkness Descends or because I liked Don Doty’s style of vocals better.

Listen To The Whole Album Here

Leave Scars is the third studio album released by the American thrash metal band, Dark Angel, released on January 24, 1989.

  • Leave Scars was Dark Angel’s most successful release, peaking at number 159 on the Billboard 200, mostly on the commercial cover of Led Zepplin’s Immigrant Song.
  • It was their first album with vocalist Ron Rinehart and bassist Mike Gonzalez. It was the last album for guitarist Jim Durkin until his return to the band in 2013.
Dark Angel “Leave Scars”


  1. “The Death of Innocence”
  2. “Never to Rise Again”
  3. “No One Answers”
  4. “Cauterization”
  5. “Immigrant Song”
  6. “Older Than Time Itself”
  7. “Worms” (Instrumental)
  8. “The Promise of Agony”
  9. “Leave Scars”
Posted on 8 Comments

Possessed “The Eyes Of Horror” EP Produced By Joe Satriani

possessed band in 1984

The 3rd Album By Possessed, Produced By Joe Satriani

Eyes of Horror was released in 1987. It was produced by guitarist Joe Satriani. This was the last album for 30 years. The original lineup never reformed. Not long after the release of Eyes Of Horror, Jeff Becerra was shot in a robbery attempt and was left paralyzed from the neck down. Not long after, the original line-up went their own ways.

What Happened to Mike Sus, Larry Lalonde, and Mike Torrao?

Mike Sus returned to school, obtained a degree in psychology, and was never active in music again. Guitarist Mike Torrao joined Infanticide, but they never released any songs publicly and broke up in 1997. He now works as a landscaper and plays music only in his spare time.

Most famously, Larry Lalonde would go on to join Blind Illusion, where he met Les Claypool and the formed Primus. Larry downplays his status as an ex-Possessed member and rarely mentions it publicly.

Possessed Band Update 2019

Jeff Becerra continues to tour and record under the name Possessed with an entirely new group of musicians. In 2019 the new line-up released the shockingly good “Revelations Of Oblivion” which has become both a critical and commercial success.

Very courageously, Jeff contains to record and front the band from a wheelchair and does a fantastic job.

Possessed “The Eyes Of Horror”

Track listing

  1. “Confessions”
  2. “My Belief”
  3. “The Eyes of Horror”
  4. “Swing of the Axe”
  5. “Storm in My Mind”
possessed 1987

In 1987 Possessed Was The Following:

Jeff Becerra – Bass & Vocals – Is the only original member from the 1980s lineup. He is now paralyzed following a street robbery, which some have rumored was a drug deal gone bad.

Mike Torrao
– Guitar

Larry Lalonde – Guitar – Went on to play in Blind Illusion, where he met Les Claypool and went on to for Primus.

Mike Sus – Drums

Jeff becera 2019
Jeff Becerra who still performs with Possessed
Posted on 5 Comments

Dark Angel – Darkness Descends 1986 – The Greatest Thrash Album Of All Time!

dark angel in 1984

Darkness Descends is the second studio album by the American thrash metal band Dark Angel, released on November 17, 1986

  1. “Darkness Descends”
  2. “The Burning of Sodom”
  3. “Hunger of the Undead”
  4. “Merciless Death”
  5. “Death Is Certain (Life Is Not)”
  6. “Black Prophecies”
  7. “Perish in Flames”

See Why This Album Is Rated One Of The Top Thrash Albums Of All Time Time-After-Time

Posted on 6 Comments

Sodom – Persecution Mania LP 1987 Steamhammer – SHLP 7000

sodom German thrash band 1985

Persecution Mania is the second studio album by German thrash metal band Sodom. Persecution Mania was released on 1 December 1987, and it was the first step in moving away from black metal themes into a more traditional thrash sound.

Tom Angelripper – vocals/bass guitar
Frank Blackfire – guitars
Chris Witchhunter – drums (RIP)

Editor’s Note: Chris Witchhunter was the original drummer for the band was in at 22 years. He died from liver failure in 2008 at the age of 42. He also was the drummer on Persecution Mania.

Sodom Band Photos 1987

Persecution Mania Album Art

Persecution mania - SODOM
Sodom – Persecution Mania


  1. “Nuclear Winter” 5:26
  2. “Electrocution” 3:26
  3. “Iron Fist” (Motörhead cover) 2:45
  4. “Persecution Mania” 3:40
  5. “Enchanted Land” 4:01
  6. “Procession to Golgatha” 2:01
  7. “Christ Passion” 6:13
  8. “Conjuration” 3:44
  9. “Bombenhagel” 5:11
Posted on 1 Comment

Whiplash – Power and Pain 1986 Roadracer Records – RR-90533

whiplash band new york 1985

This Album Should Have Made Whiplash Huge and Remains A Classic To This Day

Here are some photos of the original artwork from the album.



A1 Stage Dive

A2 Red Bomb

A3 Last Man Alive

A4 Message In Blood

B5 War Monger

B6 Power Thrashing Death

B7 Stirring The Cauldron

B8 Spit On Your Grave

B9 Nailed To The Cross

  • Backing Vocals [Power-thrashing Death Brigade] – Louie Beateaux, Petrus Steele, Rob Kabula, Vinny Stigma
  • Music By, Lyrics By – Tony Portaro
  • Band – Tony Bono, Tony Portaro, Tony Scaglione